The Kingfisher Award is Kitsap Audubon Society’s highest honor, and is awarded each year to an individual or couple for outstanding dedication and service to KAS and its mission for at least five years. The award is presented at our annual general membership dinner meeting in May. To be considered, the candidate should have demonstrated the following characteristics:

  1. Has actively participated in the chapter for at least 5 years.
  2. Has produced work of high quality.
  3. Has demonstrated the ability to complete tasks responsibly and in a timely fashion.
  4. Has advocated for wildlife and for the environment.
  5. Has shown a dedication to the KAS chapter.

If you have any nominations for the next Kingfisher Award please send them to Many people work very hard to make KAS the great chapter it is, and we want no one to be overlooked. Thanks! We appreciate your help.  See below for pat winners.


2016 Winner

janine Schutt

Janine has been an officer on the Board for five years, including two as President, two as Vice President, and one as Immediate Past President. She has also served for the last two years as Compiler for the annual Kitsap Audubon Christmas Bird Count. She has helped monitor and maintain the Seabeck Purple Martin colony, and has led bird walks for Girl Scout and Cub Scout groups, as well as given PowerPoint presentations on birds for local groups.

Janine has also served as a chapel volunteer at the Washington Corrections Center for Women in Gig Harbor and the Mission Creek Corrections Center for Women in Belfair, where she currently serves as Catholic Chaplain.

Janine is a skilled wildlife photographer who has won recognition for her bird photos in the Kitsap Sun. Her upbeat personality and enthusiasm never fail to buoy those around her.

Sharron Ham.jpg

2015 Winner

 Sharron Ham

Sharron has served on the Board since 2009 and been our refreshments chair since September 2012. She organized our 40th Anniversary Dinner. She is often the first person to volunteer for booth duty at the annual Stillwaters EcoFest and the annual Water Festival, hosted by Kitsap city and County public health, public works and utility districts for more than a thousand 3rd and 4th graders. “Sharron is wonderful with kids,”
notes Sandy Bullock. 

Sharron has also been a volunteer at the Point-No-Point lighthouse for six years, as well as the Hansville Historical Society. “Sharron has been one of our most faithful supporters,” said Janine Schutt, President of Kitsap Audubon. “It is rare for her to miss a Board meeting or membership meeting, and she is often the
first to volunteer when there is work to be done.” “Sharron is a warm, giving person who is always ready to volunteer,” said Vic Ulsh. Vic was on the committee that chose Sharron for this year’s award. The
committee is made up of the last three recipients, and included Judy
and Don Willott.

2014 Kingfisher Award.gif

2014 winner

Milly (Renee) Bellemere and Bob (Robert) Schumacher

Milly was Secretary to the Board for two years (2001-2002) and Bob served as 2nd Vice President in 2002. For the past eight years, Milly and Bob have been our official greeters, the friendly couple who welcome you and sign you in when you first come through the door at our monthly meetings. 

Milly and Bob have also been Kitsap Christmas Bird Count volunteers for ten years. They led the Seabeck area CBC in 2008, and Milly has led the backyard count for the past five years. The two have also given presentations for Kitsap Audubon based on their travels.

Past Kingfisher Award Winners:

2013 – Judy & Don Willott
2012 – Vic Ulsh
2011 – Byron & Sara Kane
2010 – Jim Ullrich
2009 – Sandy & Gene Bullock
2008 – Dawn & Hans Hansen
2007 – Dee & John Finkbeiner
2006 – Glenn Anderson
2005 – Richard Anderson
2004 – Fay & Ernie Linger
2003 – Nancy Ladenberger
2002 – Morry Walsh
2001 – Morna Blessing
2000 – John & Claudia McDonald
1999 – Ivan & Phyllis Summers
1998 – Paul & Joan Carson
1997 – Jack & Martina Hendry
1996 – Ken Short
1995 – Frank Beyer