Kitsap Audubon Society


President's Message

Kitsap Audubon's President - Sandy Bullock

Except for a short spate of cold weather in December, our El Nińo winter is shaping up to be wet and warm in the low lands, with a fairly good mountain snowpack this season. Good news for farmers and skiers, and possibly birders. An early spring could bring some nice surprises to jump-start the migration. As the month wears on, it’s a good idea to keep an eye on web sites like eBird, and Cornell Lab of Ornithology’s “,” to find out which bird species are already well on the move north, or identify that “strange” bird at your feeder that doesn’t quite seem to fit any of the pictures in your field guide.

If you’re not into early spring field trips, clean up and restock your feeders, and get ready for the Great Backyard Bird Count. Your February Kingfisher has everything you need to know to participate with birders all over the country, from the comfort of your own home at a time of day that works for you. This is serious citizen science, and the data you’ll be reporting is a valuable tool for tracking changes that may be occurring due to global warming, loss of habitat, or both.

With spring not far away, it’s time to ready your bird houses for this year’s tenants. A solution of 1 part household bleach to 9 parts warm water is recommended to clean and sanitize both feeders and bird houses. Clean feeders and houses are very important to the health of our birds. The smaller birds are especially vulnerable to deadly salmonella. If you’re planning to buy or make some bird houses, make sure you chose designs that make sense for birds. Many of the ready-made bird houses I see, are decorative but not built with birds’ needs in mind. The size of the opening, height of the perch, and inside depth can be critical for the comfort and safety of the species you wish to attract.

The reason birding has become such a popular hobby, is because it’s one that everyone can enjoy from the avid hiker or traveler, to the shut-in with a window to look out of. Birds are everywhere, from the Peregrine on the skyscraper window ledge to a robin’s nest outside the kitchen door. You can spend thousands of dollars on gear, or bird on a small budget and get just as much enjoyment from it.

Notes from the Board :
2015 recipient of the Kingfisher Award is:

Sharron Ham was presented with the 2015 Kingfisher Award at the May meeting of Kitsap Audubon. It is Kitsap Audubon’s highest award to individuals or couples who have performed outstanding service to Kitsap Audubon for a minimum of five years. The award was presented by Milly (Renee) Bellemere and Bob Schumacher, last year’s recipients.

Sharron has served on the Board since 2009 and been our refreshments chair since September 2012. She organized our 40th Anniversary Dinner. She is often the first person to volunteer for booth duty at the annual Stillwaters EcoFest and the annual Water Festival, hosted by Kitsap city and County public health, public works and utility districts for more than a thousand 3rd and 4th graders. “Sharron is wonderful with kids,” notes Sandy Bullock.

Sharron has also been a volunteer at the Point-No-Point lighthouse for six years, as well as the Hansville Historical Society.

“Sharron has been one of our most faithful supporters,” said Janine Schutt, President of Kitsap Audubon. “It is rare for her to miss a Board meeting or membership meeting, and she is often the first to volunteer when there is work to be done.”

“Sharron is a warm, giving person who is always ready to volunteer,” said Vic Ulsh. Vic was on the committee that chose Sharron for this year’s award. The committee is made up of the last three recipients, and included Judy and Don Willott.

The KINGFISHER AWARD is Kitsap Audubon Society’s annual recognition of the member or members who gave extraordinary effort to the KAS mission throughout the year. This award is given to a KAS member who has been an active supporter of KAS for at least five years and has been an advocate for the environment and wildlife.

  1. 2014 winner was Milly Bellemere and Bob Schumacher
  2. 2013 winner was Judy and Don Willott
  3. 2012 winner was Vic Ulsh
  4. 2011 winner was Sara and Byron Kane
  5. 2010 winner was Jim Ullrich
  6. 2009 winner was Sandy and Gene Bullock
  7. 2008 winner was Dawn and Hans Hansen
  8. 2007 winner was Dee and John Finkbeiner
  9. 2006 winner was Glenn Anderson
  10. 2005 winner was Richard Anderson
  11. 2004 winner was Ernie and Fay Linger
  12. 2003 winner was Nancy Ladenberger
  13. 2002 winner was Morry Walsh
  14. 2001 winner was Morna Blessing.
  15. 2000 winner was John and Claudia McDonald
  16. 1999 winner was Ivan and Phyllis Summers
  17. 1998 winner was Paul and Joan Carson
  18. 1997 winner was Jack and Martina Hendry
  19. 1996 winner was Ken Short
  20. 1995 winner was Frank Beyer

Put on those thinking caps! The KINGFISHER Award Committee welcomes your suggestions for next year's recipient of KAS's highest honor. This award, to be presented at our annual general membership dinner meeting in May, honors a KAS member who has a history of volunteer excellence with our organization. To be considered, the candidate should have demonstrated the following characteristics:

  1. Has actively participated in the chapter for at least 5 years.
  2. Has produced work of high quality.
  3. Has demonstrated the ability to complete tasks responsibly and in a timely fashion.
  4. Has advocated for wildlife and for the environment.
  5. Has shown a dedication to the KAS chapter.

Please submit any suggestions for the Kingfisher Award to the Many people work very hard to make KAS the great chapter it is, and we want no one to be overlooked. Thanks! We appreciate your help.




Our Mission is to preserve the natural world through education, enivronmental study, and habitat protection; and to promote awareness and enjoyment of local and regional natural areas. Check out our Brochure!

The Kingfisher Newsletter

Kitsap Audubon publishes a monthly on-line newsletter called the Kingfisher. The Kingfisher is published eight times a year, September to May (note: extending to June in 2015). Click here to see Archive of past issues.

© Paul Carson

Submissions from readers are welcome. Email text or photographs to or mail them to Gene Bullock, Kingfisher Editor, 1968 NE Lind Ct., Poulsbo WA 98370. Our deadline is the 15th of the preceding month.